Posted on Wednesday 1st May, 2024

MSA Volunteer of the Year 2023

The 2023 Volunteer of the Year award recognises a member who has been an outstanding volunteer at the national level.

Congratulations to Phil Tyrell (MST) from Hobart Aquatic Masters Club.

Philip Tyrell was the Chair of Organising Committee and Meet Director for the 2023 Masters Swimming Australia National Championships. There is no doubt that the organisers – led by Philip Tyrell as Committee Chair and Meet Director – put together an event that ran smoothly, was swimmer-friendly, provided excellent competition in a quality venue, with a healthy mix of rivalry and camaraderie.

The success of the event was due largely to the meticulous planning undertaken. Philip’s leadership ensured that the Championships, including swimming events, opening ceremony and social activities, proceeded in accordance with the plans, with virtually no hitches.

In addition, during 2023, Philip made important contributions to two National sub-committees. His efforts and involvement have been recognised by the Chairs of those two committees – Di Coxon-Ellis and Dr Shayne Baker with testimonials supporting his nomination.

Congratulation Phil on your award.